Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

W5 Why is New Orleans favored over Carolina?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• W5 Why is New Orleans favored over Carolina?

Hello, I am new at handicapping, but have been doing pretty well the first 4 weeks. I absolutely do not understand why the LV line is favoring New Orleans over Carolina. I understand there is a rule of thumb 3 point home advantage, but it still should have Carolina the favorite. Can anyone explain this please? Thanks, Duke (a coffee pool player)

Welcome to the site, Duke.

By setting this line at -3, Vegas is implying these teams are even. I think it would have been different a week ago, but the Panthers lost to Tampa Bay at home, and David Carr was absolutely dreadful. That's why Saints are -3.

I take it you like Carolina? I do as well.
    2016 NFL Mock Draft

Sales Tips, Sales Techniques, Sales Planning and Sales Blogs to Increase Sales Commissions

Comment

Thanks Walter, your reasoning makes sense. Do you think the LV experts have those variables such as losing a home gain, and an individuals poor performance factored into a computer program? If I look at USA today's site I see 6 different line sources which only vary 1/2 a point. It would seem that they either are all using the same program, or else five of them are copying one's line, and adding a .5 point of individuality. My simple program says Carolina by three points. Of course I only have a total of 4 weeks experience with it, but I have won $250 in coffee. Duke

Comment

I don't know if they use a computer program. I think they have to have some sort of inside information, or anything that has to do with larceny, because when they set an obvious line, the average bettors seldom win.
        2016 NFL Mock Draft

Sales Tips, Sales Techniques, Sales Planning and Sales Blogs to Increase Sales Commissions

Comment