Who is your favorite sports writer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who is your favorite sports writer?

After High School, I followed up my experience as Editor of our newspaper to join the Journalism program when I started college. I left that program after two years because i could not find the inspiration to write a genuinely interesting story on a regular basis. I will forever admire those professionals that are able to do so well what I could not.

Mine is Mitch Albom. He's absolutely awesome.

Mitch Alboom is one of my all-time faves...also like Rick Reilly (spelling?)...and he is switching to ESPN Mag to let you know.

Big fan of Michael Lewis, author of Moneyball and The Blind Side. Such a big fan that I am looking forward to reading his book on Silicon Valley called The New New Thing. Just seems interesting to me.

You and I have a lot in common animal. I was a really good sports writer in high school (won 2nd place in state for sports journalism) and the head coach of the UK Tennis team, Dennis Emery, told me I covered the tennis better than anyone in the past 5 years. I quit though because all sports stories read the same to me and I just don't enjoy writing the same thing over and over and over. That's why a blog is so great. I can write about the things going on in the sports world, without having to slave for 40-50 years as a journalist before getting to that point, and making less than 25k a year doing it.
    2014-2015 Kentucky Wildcats (38-1)

Congrats to Wisconsin. Even more congrats to UK haters.

Comment

Not to kiss any ass, but, Walter Cherepinsky isn't half-bad.

Comment

Originally posted by Jason View Post
        Not to kiss any ass, but, Walter Cherepinsky isn't half-bad.
        Agreed. I like Michael Silver, and Matt as well.

Comment

Thanks guys!

I grew up idolizing Bill Simmons, Jay Mariotti and a few others. Mitch Albom is pretty good too.
          2016 NFL Mock Draft